University of Heidelberg

Staff

Head of Department

William S. Sax, Prof. Dr. Prof. Dr. William Sax
(Head of Department)
Room 507

william.sax@urz.uni-heidelberg.de
Phone: +49 6221 54-8931

Sandra Joost Sandra Joost
(Secretary's Office)
Room 506

sandra.joost@uni-heidelberg.de
Phone: +49 6221 54-8931

Research Fellows

Dr. Roman Sieler Dr. Roman Sieler
(MAHASSA)
Room 510

sieler@uni-heidelberg.de
Phone: +49 6221 54-8798
Dr. des. Zickgraf Dr. des. Jens M. Zickgraf
(Research Associate)
Room 504

zickgraf@uni-heidelberg.de
Phone: +49 6221 54-8838
Dr. Karin Polit PD Dr. Karin Polit
(Margarete von Wrangell Fellow)
Room 503

kpolit@sai.uni-heidelberg.de
Phone: +49 6221 54-4908
Dr. Sheela Saravanan Dr. Sheela Saravanan
(DFG project "Wunschkinder")
Room 502

sheela.saravanan@uni-heidelberg.de
Phone: +49 6221 54-8848

Lecturers

Rainer Kimmig, M.A.

Research Fellows

Eva Ambos, M.A.
Dr. med. Ananda Samir Chopra
Prof. Harish Naraindas
Dr. Ferdinand Okwaro
Dr. Johannes Quack

Ph.D. candidates

Hasan Ashraf, M.A.
Hadis Jahani Vishehsaraei, M.A.
Patricia Junge, M.A.
Sinjini Mukherjee, M.A.
Lokesh Ohri, M.A.
Nike-Ann Schröder, M.A.

Research Assistants

HiWis der Abteilung Ethnologie - ethnohiwis@googlemail.com
Charlotte von Waitz (Department of Anthropology)
Torben Linnhoff (Department of Anthropology)
Brenna Shea Anderson (Department of Anthropology/MAHASSA) - b.anderson@stud.uni-heidelberg.de
Luka Hummel (IT) - hummel@sai.uni-heidelberg.de

Former Faculty

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Alex
Sandra Bärnreuther, M.A.
Dr. Florian Besch
Prof. Dr. Christiane Brosius
Dr. Stefan Ecks
Prof. Dr. Roland Hardenberg
Prof. Dr. Beatrix Hauser
Dr. Christian Strümpell
Dr. Constanze Weigl-Jäger
Last modified 20th June, 2017


to top of page
Contents of the right column
News
Conferences and external lectures

The department on events - read more...

Latest publications
Occasional Paper Series

Heidelberg Ethnology

Richard Fox

All papers viewable here.

Article

Becoming like money: Proximity and the social aesthetics of “moneyness”

Jens M. Zickgraf

HAU: Journal of Ethnographic Theory, 7(1), 303–326.

Monograph

Lethal Spots, Vital Secrets: Medicine and Martial Arts in South India

Roman Sieler

For further information, please see here.

Article

Patient Agency Revisited: "Healing the Hidden" in South India.

Roman Sieler

Medical Anthropology Quarterly, 28: 323-341.

Special edition

Modern Asian Studies

Volume 48 - Issue 05 - September 2014

Click here to view the contents.

Collected edition

Asymmetrical Conversations

Contestations, Circumventions, and the Blurring of Therapeutic Boundaries

Epistemologies of Healing, Vol. 14, edited by Harish Naraindas, Johannes Quack, and William S. Sax, New York 2014.
At the UB: click here.

Articles

The anthropology of neoliberal India: An introduction.

Daniel Münster and Christian Strümpell

The politics of dispossession in an Odishan steel town

Christian Strümpell

Both in Contributions to Indian Sociology 48 (Feb. 2014).

Article

Ritual Healing and Mental Health in India.

William Sax

Transcult Psychiatry (Feb. 2014).

Ethnology in Heidelberg
Links