Admission information for the B.A. South Asian Studies

Start of study is the beginning of each winter term. The B.A. South Asian Studies is not limited by a numerus clausus. Thus, the conditions for numerus clausus free courses of Heidelberg University apply to the matriculation. The B.A. South Asian Studies can be studied as a major of 100%, 75% and 50% (both as the first and the second major) and as a minor of 25%.

The standard period of study (major of 100%) is six terms in which 180 credit points must be acquired. The orientation exam is course-related and has to be taken after the second term or after the third term at the latest.

At the beginning of each winter term (usually during the last week before the start of lecture period) the First Semester Introduction Days for the Bachelor's programmes of SAI take place, during which all departments of the institute introduce themselves. Moreover, first-year students have the chance to get to know their fellow students at a breakfast organised by the institute's Fachschaft.

Zulassungsregularien für den Bachelor Südasienstudien

Studienbeginn ist immer im Wintersemester. Der B.A. Südasienstudien ist nicht durch einen NC beschränkt, d.h. für die Immatrikulation gelten die Bedingungen der Universität Heidelberg für NC-freie Fächer. Der B.A. Südasienstudien wird als Hauptfach in einer 100% und 75%, als 1. oder 2. Hauptfach in einer 50%/50%-Kombination und als Nebenfach in einer 25% Variante angeboten.

Die Regelstudienzeit im Hauptfach beträgt sechs Semester, in denen 180 Leistungspunkte erbracht werden müssen. Die Orientierungsprüfung ist studienbegleitend und muss nach dem 2. Semester, spätestens nach dem dritten Semester, abgelegt werden.

Zu Beginn des Wintersemesters (i.d.R. in der Woche vor Vorlesungsbeginn) finden die Erstsemestereinführungstage des SAI statt, in welchen sich alle Abteilungen des Instituts vorstellen. Bei einem von der Fachschaft organisierten Frühstück bietet sich außerdem die Möglichkeit, zukünftige Kommilitonen kennen zu lernen.